Energy Secy transferred

    Bishwa Prakash Pandit
    Bishwa Prakash Pandit

    KATHMANDU: A day after revocation of the decision to increase the capacity of the Trishuli 3A hydel to 90 MW from 60 MW, the Cabinet transferred Energy Secretary Hari Ram Koirala to the office of Vice President and appointed Bishwa Prakash Pandit, Secretary at the Water and Energy Commission, in his place. Bowing down to a series of protests from employees of the Nepal Electricity Authority, the Energy Ministry had rolled back the move to upgrade the project on Wednesday. After revocation of the decision, Koirala had said Trishuli 3A would meet the fate of the Melamchi Drinking Water Project.

    Source : The Himalayan Times




    10 DIGs, 7 secretaries transferred


    KATHMANDU, June 13: The government has reshuffled the posting of 10 Deputy Inspector Generals (DIG) of Nepal Police and seven secretaries on Thursday.
    A cabinet meeting Thursday approved the proposal of the Ministry of Home Affairs to reshuffle the posting of the DIGs, according to government spokesman and Minister for Information and Communications Madhav Prasad Paudel.

    According to Paudel, DIG Upendra Kanta Aryal has been posted as the chief of eastern regional headquarters from Metropolitan Police Traffic Division, DIG Surendra Shah has been posted as the chief of western regional headquarters, DIG Bigyan Raj Sharma has been posted as the chief of central development regional headquarters from Tribhuvan International Airport (TIA), and DIG Rajendra Singh Bhandari to mid-western regional headquarters and DIG Narayan Bastakoti to far-western regional headquarters.

    Similarly DIG Keshav Adhikari has been transferred to Metropolitan Police Traffic Division, DIG Gopal Bhandari to TIA, DIG Prakash Aryal to the Central Investigation Bureau, DIG Bam Bahadur Bhandari to Directorate of Counter Terrorism and DIG Nawaraj Silwal to Nepal Police headquarters.

    The government has also transferred secretary Biswaprakash Pandit to the Ministry for Energy from the Water and Energy Commission, energy secretary Hariram Koirala to the Office of Vice President, forests secretary Krishna Chandra Paudel to Water and Energy Commission, CIAA secretary Ganesh Raj Joshi to the Ministry of Forests, and commerce secretary Lal Mani Joshi to the Ministry of Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation. Similarly, secretaries Sharada Prasad Trital and Janardhan Nepal have been transferred to the Office of the President and Ministry of Commerce, respectively. Meanwhile, Jagadish Chandra Lal has been promoted to the post of Director General of Civil Aviation Authority of Nepal.

    Source : Republica