Upper Tamakoshi HEP

Nepal Electricity Authority (NEA) has established an autonomous company named Upper Tamakoshi Hydropower Limited (UTKHPL) in March 2007 (2063/11/25 B.S.) as an executing agency for the implementation of the Project. There are six full time and two invitee members in the Board of Directors (BoD) at present. Out of six full time members, four members from NEA, one from Employees Provident Fund (EPF) and one from Nepal Telecom (NTC) are representing in the BoD. Similarly, representatives of Citizen Investment Trust (CIT) and Rastriya Beema Sansthan (RBS) are also in the BoD as invitee members.

Salient Features

Type of Development = Peaking Run-of-River (PRoR)
Location = Lamabagar VDC, Dolakha District, Janakpur Zone, Central Development Region
Headworks Location = Lamabagar, Lamabagar VDC
Powerhouse Location = Gongar Gaon, Lamabagar VDC
Maximum Output = 456 MW
Annual Energy = 2,281 GWh
Gross Head = 822 m
Design Discharge = 66.0 m 3 /sec
Catchment Area = 1,745 km 2
Min. Mean Monthly Flow = 14.1 m 3/sec.
Mean Annual Flow = 67.2 m3/sec.
Design flood Q1,000 = 885.0 m3/sec
Diversion Dam = 22 m x 60.0 m (H x L)
Live Storage = 1.2 Million m3
Settling Basins = 2 Nos. L=225 m
Headrace Tunnel = 7.9 km (Cross Sectional Area = 32.14 m2)
Penstock (Vertical Shaft and Horizontal Tunnel) = 714.0 m
Power House (Underground) = 142.0m x 13.0m x 25.0 m
(L x B x H)
Number of units = 6
Tailrace Tunnel = 2.9 km (Cross Sectional Area = 35.0 m2)
Access Road from Charikot of Dolakha District = 68.0 km
Transmission line = 220 kVA Double Circuit, 47.0 km (Gongar to Khimti Substation)
Construction Cost = NRs.35.29 Billion equivalent to US$ 441 Million (Excluding Interest During Construction)
Construction Time Period = 5 Years

Website : http://www.tamakoshihydro.org.np

Leave a comment