Sharat Singh Bhandari is appointed as Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation Minister


5 Jun, 2021 (Kathmandu) On Friday, Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli expanded the cabinet and appoint  Sharat Singh Bhandari as Minister of Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation. Dismissing 13 members of the current cabinet, Prime Minister Oli has appointed 12 new ministers.

The reshuffling was done as the Janata Samajwadi party-Nepal joined the government today after months of being courted by Oli in a bid to keep his government standing.

UML’s Bishnu Paudel (Finance Minister) and Raghubir Mahaseth (Foreign Minister) and Thakur-led JSP’s Rajendra Mahato (Urban Development Minister) have been sworn in as Deputy Prime Ministers in the new cabinet.

The new cabinet has three Deputy Prime Ministers, 12 cabinet ministers and two state ministers including Chandra Kanta Chaudhary as Minister of State for Energy,Water Resources and Irrigation.