SAARC Energy Ministers Meeting Starts Tomorrow in Delhi


    SaarcThe Fifth Meeting of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) Energy Ministers opens here Thursday.

    The two-day meeting aims to strengthen energy co-operation among the member countries of the organization, the Press Information Bureau (PIB) said Wednesday.

    Besides host country India, energy ministers and senior officials from the SAARC member countries – Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will participate.

    The meeting’s agenda includes a review of status of implementation of decisions of the Fourth Meeting of SAARC Energy Ministers held in Dhaka, on September 15, 2011, and the Report of the Senior Officials Meeting that will be held tomorrow. It also includes issues related to enhanced co-operation in energy sector amongst the SAARC countries.

    SAARC was created in 1985 with its Secretariat in Kathmandu, Nepal. Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka are the Members of this Association.

    Source : saarc sec